A Scottish Fairy Tale- Anna B.

This month’s Sycamore Spotlight is Anna B. Anna is an ISU Honors student who is studying Psychology. She is spending a month at our partner school, University of Stirling in Scotland. For this month’s post, she talked about what she has experienced so far.

Anna in Fairy Glenn
Anna in Fairy Glenn

I arrived in Stirling about two weeks ago, and I’ve been having a great time since! This past week is when classes really started kicking in, so I’ve been keeping busy. I’m taking a class on Scottish history as well as a class on the psychology of evil. Both classes are very interesting and offer different points of view!

Weather here is very fickle. Our program directors told us to expect all four seasons in one day and to be prepared for anything; they couldn’t have been more right! It can go from sunny to rainy in a matter of minutes, so you have to be sure to have at least an umbrella on you at all times!

As far as social life for the week goes, I’m enjoying going to pubs with my friends and walking around town. Stirling has so many places to shop and eat. Everything in the city centre is quaint and the people are pretty friendly! My favorite thing to do is just walk around and see all the different kinds of places the town has to offer.

Loch Airthrey
Loch Airthrey

A week ago my program took a trip to Edinburgh, and I had a lot of fun! We had the opportunity to have free time within the city to shop, eat, and see the sights. My favorite part of the day was when we took a Harry Potter tour around town and saw places where J. K. Rowling wrote some of the first books and where inspiration for the book came from. It is one of the highlights of my trip so far!

The Bridge featured in the Harry Potter movies
The Bridge featured in the Harry Potter movies

Another highlight of my trip is hiking the Dumyat hill that’s on campus. The hike took about two and a half hours to complete, but it was worth it because the sights were incredible. Everything was so green and natural, and there were plenty of free-range sheep to take pictures of along the way. Once at the top, my friends and I stayed up there for a good fifteen minutes to enjoy the view. Then the wind got to be too much and we headed back down. It was so much fun!

Anna at Dumyat
Anna at Dumyat

Tomorrow I am going on a weekend trip to the highlands. The tour is going to take us to the Isle of Skye, Loch Ness, Glencoe, and a bunch of other places in between. I can’t wait to see more of this gorgeous country! My experience here has been great so far, and I can’t wait to see what the next two weeks have in store for me!

Isle of Skye
Isle of Skye
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑